PRASAD Full Form | Scheme related to | Launch date | Under ministry

prasad full form

There are many such places in our country which attract tourists. Some of these places are religious and some are natural. So in an attempt to revive this religious pilgrimage and spiritual field, the PRASAD scheme was taken out by the Government of India. If you want to know about this scheme like the full form of PRASAD, launch date, under which ministry it was run then read this article completely.

What is the full form of PRASAD scheme?

The term PRASAD stands for Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive, it is known as तीर्थयात्रा कायाकल्प और आध्यात्मिक संवर्धन अभियान in Hindi. This scheme was launched in 2015 to revive pilgrimage and spiritual places in the country. Under the Ministry of Tourism, this scheme enhances and develops pilgrimage and spiritual places in modern ways.

Name of schemePRASAD
Full formPilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive
Launch year2015
Under MinistryMinistry of Tourism

Objectives of PRASAD scheme

  • Integrated development of religious and pilgrimage places in a planned, priority, sustainable manner
  • To promote religious tourism so that it has a direct and multifaceted impact on employment generation and ecomic developement
  • To follow the concept of community based development and proper tourism in the development of pilgrimage places
  • Leveraging Public Capital and Expertise
  • Sustainable increase in tourist attraction by develping world class infrastructure in religious destination
  • To create awareness among the endemic communities about the importance of tourism in the context of increasing the source of income and overall development in the region
  • Promotion of local arts, culture, handicrafts, cuisine etc. to generate livelihood in identified locations.

Other important facts

  • The management structure of this plan includes –
    1. National Steering Committee (NSC)
    2. Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee (CSMC)
    3. Mission directorate
    4. Program Management Consultant (PMC)
  • There are a total of 41 sites in 25 states under the PRASAD scheme
  • There are total 12 cities under the scheme
    1. Ajmer (Rajasthan)
    2. Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh)
    3. Amritsar (Punjab)
    4. Dwaraka (Gujarat)
    5. Gaya (Bihar)
    6. Kamakhya (Assam)
    7. Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu)
    8. Kedarnath (Uttarakhand)
    9. Mathura (Uttar Pradesh)
    10. Puri (Odisha)
    11. Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)
    12. Velankanni (Tamil Nadu)

Also checkout:


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top