Delhi NCR Full Form – What does the term NCR stand for in Delhi NCR?

delhi ncr full form

Friends, you know that Delhi is the capital of our country. For this reason, people from all over the country are attracted to Delhi to find solutions to many problems like employment. The population of Delhi started increasing due to the gathering of the small number of people from all over the country in one city, and it was becoming very difficult to pay attention to such a population at once, for people to have food, water, drainage, Traffic congestion, residential land, and many such facilities. Began to decrease. For this reason, Delhi NCR had to be established. So now you know the reason for the establishment of NCR, next we will know the full form of Delhi NCR and which districts and cities come in it.

What is the full form of Delhi NCR?

The term NCR is abbreviated for National Capital Region, it is a residential area created by connecting some parts of Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Haryana with Delhi National Capital Territory (NCT). Due to Delhi being the capital of the country, this migration of people was happening on a large scale. Due to which the density of population was increasing in Delhi, due to which facilities were not available to all the public. To reduce this density, the government established the NCR in 1985 under the National Capital Region Planning Board Act of 1985. In order to increase the area of Delhi, some districts of its surrounding states i.e. Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, and Rajasthan were added under Delhi NCR.

History of the formation of Delhi NCR

  • In 1956, the government recognized the plan to expand the area of Delhi by connecting together outer areas with Delhi.
  • In 1961, High Powered Board was set up under Union Minister of Home Affairs to target this topic.
  • In 1962, Master Pan was out for planning of Delhi in regional context.
  • In 1973, the High Powered Board was reconstructed under Union Ministry of Works & Housing.
    • To plan the development of region.
    • To create policies to control the land uses.
    • To development of infrastructure in the region.
  • In 1985, Delhi NCR was formed under 1985 Enactment of the National Capital Region Planning Board Act by union Parliament.
  • At the time of formation NCR only had Haryana districts of Gurgaon, Faridabad and Sonipat, Rohtak (then including Jhajjar tehsil) and the Rewari tehsil then in Mahendragarh district; and the Uttar Pradesh districts of Bulandshahr, Muzaffarnagar, Meerut (then including Baghpat tehsil), and Ghaziabad (then including Hapur tehsil), and some part of the Rajasthan district of Alwar.
  • In 2013, Bhiwani and Mahendragarh districts from state of Haryana and Bharatpur districts from the state of Rajasthan was added in NCR to extend the area.
  • In 2015, Jind, Panipat, and Karnal from state of Haryana and Muzaffarnagar from state of Uttar Pradesh was added in NCR.
  • Shamli district was added to NCR in December 2017.

Area comes under Delhi NCR:

The total surface area of Delhi NCR by adding Delhi city and its surrounding areas is 55,083 km2. Now let see state wise district which comes under Delhi NCR. At present NCR has a total of 24 external districts including 8 from Uttar Pradesh, 14 from Haryana, and 2 from Rajasthan.

Delhi Whole Delhi NCT
Uttar Pradesh Baghpat
Gautam Buddh Nagar
Haryana Bhiwani
Charkhi Dadri
Rajasthan Alwar


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top