AYUSH Full Form – What does the term AYUSH stand for?

ayush full form

What do you think will happen after hearing the name AYUSH? The first thing that will come to your mind is AYUSH is the name of an Indian man or boy. But only the people who give the competitive exam or those who watch or read the news know how important AYUSH is in our country. This article is mainly to tell the full form of AYUSH and you will also know some important things related to it.

What is AYUSH & its full form?

The term AYUSH stands for Ayurveda, Yoga, Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, Sowa-Rigpa, and Homoeopathy. AYUSH is one of the ministries in our country India. The Ministry of AYUSH was created on 9th November 2014 with the objective of promoting the knowledge of ancient systems of medicine of our country and to develop and disseminate the practices related to AYUSH. Earlier, the responsibility of the development and dissemination of all the activities present in AYUSH was with the Department of Indian System of Medicine and Homeopathy (ISM&H). In 2003, it was renamed as Department of Ayurveda, Yoga, Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, and Homeopathy (AYUSH) to attract the public towards the study and research of Ayurveda, Yoga, Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, and Homeopathy. Currently, Sarbananda Sonowal is responsible for the Ministry of AYUSH.

Organizations under the Ministry of Ayush

Research Councils

  1. Central Council for Research in AyurvedicSciences (CCRAS)
  2. Central Council for Research in Yoga and Naturopathy (CCRYN)
  3. Central Council for Research in Unani Medicine (CCRUM)
  4. Central Council for Research in Siddha (CCRS)
  5. Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy (CCRH)

Statutory Councils

  1. National Commission for Indian System of Medicine (NCISM)
  2. National Commission for Homoeopathy (NCH)

National Laboratories

  1. Pharmacopoeial Laboratory for Indian Medicine (PLIM)
  2. Homoeopathic Pharmacopoeia Laboratory (HPL)
  3. Pharmacopoeia Commission for Indian Medicine & Homoeopathy(PCIM&H)

National Institutes

  1. National Institute of Ayurveda (NIA)
  2. National Institute of Naturopathy (NIN)
  3. National Institute of Unani Medicine (NIUM)
  4. National Institute of Siddha (NIS)
  5. National Institute of Homoeopathy (NIH)
  6. Institute of Teaching and Research in Ayurveda (ITRA)
  7. Rashtriya Ayurved Vidyapeeth (RAV)
  8. Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga (MDNIY)
  9. North Eastern Institute of Folk Medicine (NEIFM)
  10. North Eastern Institute of Ayurveda and Homoeopathy (NEIAH)
  11. All India Institute of Ayurveda (AIIA)

These are councils, laboratories, and institutes created to provide education regarding Ayurveda, Yoga, Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha, and Homeopathy.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll to Top